Porträt von Edmund Blair Leighton

Edmund Blair Leighton Gemälde Reproduktionen 2 von 2

1853-1922

englische Romantik Maler

Edmund Blair Leighton (1853-1922) war ein englischer Maler, der für seine Historien- und Genreszenen des mittelalterlichen und tudoristischen Lebens bekannt war. Er wurde in London als Sohn des Künstlers Charles Blair Leighton geboren.

Leighton begann seine künstlerische Ausbildung 1874 an der Royal Academy School in London. Er spezialisierte sich auf historische und Genreszenen, und seine frühen Werke zeigten den Einfluss der Präraffaeliten mit ihrer Liebe zum Detail und der Verwendung heller, lebendiger Farben.

In den 1880er Jahren begann Leighton, seinen eigenen Stil zu entwickeln, der sich durch eine weiche, romantische Qualität und eine Konzentration auf die emotionalen und psychologischen Aspekte seiner Motive auszeichnete. In seinen Gemälden stellte er häufig Frauen dar, die er als stark und würdevoll, aber auch als verletzlich darstellte.

Leightons Gemälde waren zu seiner Zeit sehr beliebt, und er stellte von 1878 bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1922 regelmäßig in der Royal Academy aus. Er war auch Mitglied der Royal Society of British Artists und des Royal Institute of Oil Painters.

Zu Leightons berühmtesten Gemälden gehören "The Accolade", "The Shadow", "The Wedding March" und "God Speed". Diese Werke zeugen von seinem Geschick, die Schönheit und Dramatik historischer Szenen einzufangen, sowie von seiner Fähigkeit, Emotionen und Charaktere durch seine Motive zu vermitteln.

Leighton war mit Katherine Nash verheiratet, die häufig für seine Gemälde Modell stand. Sie hatten zwei gemeinsame Kinder. Leighton starb 1922 in London und hinterließ ein Vermächtnis an schönen und romantischen Gemälden, die den Betrachter bis heute fesseln.

27 Blair Leighton Gemälden

Ribbons and Laces for Very Pretty Faces, 1902 von Blair Leighton | Gemälde-Reproduktion

Ribbons and Laces for Very Pretty Faces 1902

Ölgemälde
$3257
Leinwand Kunstdruck
$50.08
SKU: EBL-14129
Edmund Blair Leighton
Originalmaß: 106.6 x 55.8 cm
Privatsammlung

The Elopement, 1893 von Blair Leighton | Gemälde-Reproduktion

The Elopement 1893

Ölgemälde
$1364
Leinwand Kunstdruck
$50.08
SKU: EBL-14130
Edmund Blair Leighton
Originalmaß: 35.5 x 25 cm
Privatsammlung

My Lady's Garden, 1905 von Blair Leighton | Gemälde-Reproduktion

My Lady's Garden 1905

Ölgemälde
$1157
Leinwand Kunstdruck
$50.08
SKU: EBL-14131
Edmund Blair Leighton
Originalmaß: 38 x 33 cm
Privatsammlung

Top

Portrait of Edmund Blair Leighton

Edmund Blair Leighton Painting Reproductions 2 of 2

1853-1922

English Romanticism Painter

Edmund Blair Leighton (1853-1922) was an English painter known for his historical and genre scenes of medieval and Tudor life. He was born in London, the son of the artist Charles Blair Leighton.

Leighton began his artistic training at the Royal Academy Schools in London in 1874. He specialized in historical and genre scenes, and his early works showed the influence of the Pre-Raphaelites, with their attention to detail and use of bright, vivid colors.

In the 1880s, Leighton began to develop his own style, which was characterized by a soft, romantic quality and a focus on the emotional and psychological aspects of his subjects. He often depicted women in his paintings, portraying them as strong and dignified, yet vulnerable.

Leighton's paintings were highly popular in his time, and he exhibited regularly at the Royal Academy from 1878 until his death in 1922. He was also a member of the Royal Society of British Artists and the Royal Institute of Oil Painters.

Some of Leighton's most famous paintings include "The Accolade," "The Shadow," "The Wedding March," and "God Speed." These works showcase his skill in capturing the beauty and drama of historical scenes, as well as his ability to convey emotion and character through his subjects.

Leighton was married to Katherine Nash, who often modeled for his paintings. They had two children together. Leighton died in London in 1922, leaving behind a legacy of beautiful and romantic paintings that continue to captivate viewers to this day.

27 Blair Leighton Paintings

Ribbons and Laces for Very Pretty Faces, 1902 by Blair Leighton | Painting Reproduction

Ribbons and Laces for Very Pretty Faces 1902

Oil Painting
$3535
Canvas Print
$49.41
SKU: EBL-14129
Edmund Blair Leighton
Original Size: 106.6 x 55.8 cm
Private Collection

The Elopement, 1893 by Blair Leighton | Painting Reproduction

The Elopement 1893

Oil Painting
$1481
Canvas Print
$49.41
SKU: EBL-14130
Edmund Blair Leighton
Original Size: 35.5 x 25 cm
Private Collection

My Lady's Garden, 1905 by Blair Leighton | Painting Reproduction

My Lady's Garden 1905

Oil Painting
$1256
Canvas Print
$49.41
SKU: EBL-14131
Edmund Blair Leighton
Original Size: 38 x 33 cm
Private Collection

Top