Henry Alexander Bowler Gemälde Reproduktionen 1 von 1

1824-1903

englische Romantik Maler

Henry Alexander Bowler, ein englischer Künstler, der am 30. November 1824 geboren wurde, war viele Jahre lang ein bekannter Lehrer an der Royal Academy of Arts und stellte dort auch seine Gemälde aus. Er wuchs im Londoner Stadtteil Kensington als Sohn von Charles und Frances Anne Bowler auf. Nach dem Besuch von Privatschulen absolvierte er eine Kunstausbildung an der Leigh's School und an der Government School of Design im Somerset House.

Im Jahr 1851 wurde Bowler zum Direktor des Stourbridge College of Art ernannt, doch schon bald wurde er als Lehrer an die Schule in Somerset House versetzt, an der er seine Ausbildung erhalten hatte. Im Jahr 1855 wurde er Inspektor der Abteilung für Wissenschaft und Kunst und 1876 stellvertretender Direktor für Kunst in South Kensington. Bowler bekleidete auch wichtige Posten bei der Organisation der Internationalen Ausstellung von 1862 und der nachfolgenden Ausstellungen. Von 1861 bis 1899 lehrte er Perspektive an der Royal Academy of Arts.

Von 1847 bis 1871 stellte Bowler zehn Bilder, zumeist Landschaften, in der Royal Academy aus, weitere Werke in der British Institution und anderswo. Eines seiner bemerkenswerten Werke ist The Doubt: "Can these Dry Bones Live?", das er 1855 in der Royal Academy und 1862 auf der Internationalen Ausstellung ausstellte. Es wurde später von einem Mitglied seiner Familie 1921 der Tate Gallery geschenkt.

1853 heiratete Bowler Ellen Archer Archer, Tochter von Thomas Archer, Pfarrer von Whitchurch, Buckinghamshire, und hatte mit ihr drei Söhne und eine Tochter. Bowler schied 1891 aus der Abteilung für Wissenschaft und Kunst aus und verstarb am 6. August 1903 in seinem Haus in Kensington. Er wurde auf dem Kensal Green Cemetery beigesetzt.

1 Henry Alexander Bowler Gemälden

The Doubt: Can these dry bones live, 1855 von Henry Alexander Bowler | Gemälde-Reproduktion

The Doubt: Can these dry bones live 1855

Ölgemälde
$1533
Leinwand Kunstdruck
$50.05
SKU: BHA-455
Henry Alexander Bowler
Originalmaß: 61 x 51 cm
Tate Gallery, London, United Kingdom

Top

Henry Alexander Bowler Painting Reproductions 1 of 1

1824-1903

English Victorian Romanticism Painter

Henry Alexander Bowler, an English artist born on November 30th, 1824, was a well-known teacher at the Royal Academy of Arts for many years, as well as an exhibitor of paintings there. He grew up in the Kensington district of London, the son of Charles and Frances Anne Bowler. After attending private schools, he pursued art education at Leigh's School and the Government School of Design at Somerset House.

In 1851, Bowler was appointed headmaster of the Stourbridge College of Art, but was soon transferred to a teaching position at the school at Somerset House where he had received his training. He became an inspector in the Science and Art Department in 1855 and assistant director for art at South Kensington in 1876. Bowler also held important posts in organizing the 1862 International Exhibition and subsequent exhibitions. From 1861 to 1899, he taught perspective at the Royal Academy of Arts.

Bowler exhibited ten pictures, mostly landscapes, at the Royal Academy from 1847 to 1871, and other works at the British Institution and elsewhere. One of his notable pieces is The Doubt: "Can these Dry Bones Live?" which he exhibited at the Royal Academy in 1855 and again at the 1862 International Exhibition. It was later presented to the Tate Gallery by a member of his family in 1921.

In 1853, Bowler married Ellen Archer Archer, daughter of Thomas Archer, J.P., vicar of Whitchurch, Buckinghamshire, and together they had three sons and one daughter. Bowler retired from the Science and Art Department in 1891 and passed away at his home in Kensington on August 6th, 1903. He was buried at Kensal Green Cemetery.

1 Henry Alexander Bowler Paintings

The Doubt: Can these dry bones live, 1855 by Henry Alexander Bowler | Painting Reproduction

The Doubt: Can these dry bones live 1855

Oil Painting
$1505
Canvas Print
$49.13
SKU: BHA-455
Henry Alexander Bowler
Original Size: 61 x 51 cm
Tate Gallery, London, United Kingdom

Top